HP Discover, Las Vegas; trips around Essex, UK; and Dublin, Ireland

I arrive in the UK

After a wonderful time with Daniel Billing I suffered the most undignified treatment, being sent through the post to Stuart Rance’s house in Essex. The parcel was dark and bumpy and I was inside for ages.

Entering Las Vegas - do they speak Penglish here?

Not quite the first class experience I was hoping for

I really needed some fish to revive me, but first my new friend (lovingly referred to as “Mrs Stuart”) said I had to try this thing called “tea” (I was willing to give it a go because it rhymed with “sea”).

Entering Las Vegas - do they speak Penglish here?

Enjoying a brew

The tea was ok but I still needed fish. I wasn’t too sure what the silver things were with my salmon (humans are weird) but the fish was delicious.

Entering Las Vegas - do they speak Penglish here?

Yummy in my tummy

Mrs Stuart and his family taught me a new game called Pengi Ping Pong, thankfully nobody brought up the topic of gamification (I would look silly with a badge) and I’m pleased to say that I thrashed them all!

Just call me Zhang Jike

Just call me Zhang Jike

Whilst I was staying with Mrs Stuart there was a Forrester conference at a hotel in central London, so I went to visit them on a Sunday lunch time to see who I could find. First some familiar faces:

Then I discovered a new breed of analyst by the name of Chris Matchett who I liked a lot because he wore clothes that supported penguins. Apparently he works for Gartner and not for Forrester. I think he might have been on a mission to steal CMDB secrets from the mighty O’Donnell but I can’t be certain.

Entering Las Vegas - do they speak Penglish here?

If you look closely you can see Chris’ small human, she was very cute.

Then I met the love of my life Andie Kis.

Entering Las Vegas - do they speak Penglish here?

The best day EVER

We all went for tea in Hyde Park and I even had time to teach Andie how to ride a scooter.

Entering Las Vegas - do they speak Penglish here?

I ate all the fish sandwiches

Entering Las Vegas - do they speak Penglish here?

Zoom zoom zoom

HP Discover, Las Vegas

After a brief visit with Mrs Stuart’s family it was time to do some ITSM stuff. We went back to my favourite town, Las Vegas, to HP Discover. I was expecting to get my own seat in the first class end of the plane, but Mrs Stuart said I had to hide in his bag because I didn’t have a passport. I’ve never heard anything so ridiculous; penguins have been travelling all over the world without passports for centuries.

Entering Las Vegas - do they speak Penglish here?

It was a tight squeeze

HP Discover was an enormous event. I couldn’t believe how big it was. This wasn’t an IT Service Management conference (apparently there is more to technology than just ITSM… I know it was a shock for me too); it seemed to cover every imaginable aspect of IT, but with about 12,000 attendees there were plenty of ITSM exhibits and more than enough people to keep me entertained.

Here’s a few of the friends I made:

Entering Las Vegas - do they speak Penglish here?

Michael Pott from HP Software

Entering Las Vegas - do they speak Penglish here?

Chuck Darst from HP Software

Entering Las Vegas - do they speak Penglish here?

Angela Chin from HP Technology Consulting

Mrs Stuart must get more of his colleagues to take part in Twitter so that I can keep in touch with them.

Entering Las Vegas - do they speak Penglish here?

Andrew Speake from G2G3

Entering Las Vegas - do they speak Penglish here?

Carrie Pairman from G2G3

Entering Las Vegas - do they speak Penglish here?

Neil Whyte from G2G3

G2G3 are a company that really do understand IT Service Management, although there is of course always room for improvement. I commend their hiring of that super intelligent bloke Ian Clayton and my dear friend Ken Gonzalez, but let’s face it, what they really need is some penguin expertise.

Anyway, the HP keynote by Meg Whitman was really good.  She talked about HP customers and partners, as well as the huge range of HP hardware, software and services. There was also a presentation by some guy called Kevin Bacon who didn’t have anything to do with IT Service Management, but talked about Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon. He made me think of Mr Ken (Gonzalez), he likes bacon.

The audience at Mrs Stuart’s presentation went absolutely wild for my silhouette. I wanted to stay there for the whole session but Mrs Stuart made me get down when he wanted to change slides. Personally I think my presentation on the importance of fish in ITIL processes would have been better but whatever.

Entering Las Vegas - do they speak Penglish here?

Just making the presentation a little sexier

There was a concert one evening, by a guy called Carlos Santana. Lots of flashing lights and loud music, but the humans seemed to enjoy it. What I really like about Las Vegas, is that there’s always plenty of fish. Even on the fruit machines.

Entering Las Vegas - do they speak Penglish here?

Unfortunately it pays out in $$ not fish

On my final day in Las Vegas, Mrs Stuart took me for a walk up and down the strip (which was nice considering that that Stephen Mann bloke never bothered on my first trip). There were lots of places where I expected to find fish, but they all seemed to be empty.

Entering Las Vegas - do they speak Penglish here?

Oh fish where art thou?

Entering Las Vegas - do they speak Penglish here?

Maybe the fish are scared of ITSM people?

Entering Las Vegas - do they speak Penglish here?

Here fishy fishy fishy

When I did find some fish, there was a solid pane of glass in the way, so I was starving by the time Mrs Stuart finally fed me. ITSM is hard work.

Back in the UK

Then the same thing happened when we got back to the UK, Mrs Stuart took me for a walk in the park and the lake had this terrible sign! I really don’t think much of a country that doesn’t let its penguins go swimming or fishing.

Entering Las Vegas - do they speak Penglish here?

I miss Sweden

itSMF in Dublin, Ireland

Stuart’s next trip was to speak at an itSMF event in Dublin, I was quite excited because this was my first trip to Ireland (although I’m still not happy that itSMF still haven’t acknowledged the free advertising on my twitter profile). You can see how the audience listened to everything I had to say (because I am the ITSM KING… penguin! Ha!). It was a great event, that included a barbecue and bar at the end.

Entering Las Vegas - do they speak Penglish here?

My service catalogue jokes had them in stitches

Moving on again

I was quite sad when I had to leave Mrs Stuart’s house for my next adventure, I think his youngest daughter had taken quite a shine to me and I didn’t even get a photo of her (I hope Andie isn’t reading this). Mrs Stuart says I can help deliver his presentation to itSMF UK in November, so we’ll be meeting again.

Where now?

At the moment I’m hanging out with Ivor Macfarlene although I am not sure where he is intending on taking me. If anybody knows please let me know! Rest assured I will be eating fish and spreading the ITSM love whatever happens.

3 thoughts on “HP Discover, Las Vegas; trips around Essex, UK; and Dublin, Ireland

Leave a Reply

